Thursday, 26 November 2015

Review of Surviving Ice by KA Tucker

The bit on the back…

Ivy Lee, a talented tattoo artist who spent the early part of her twenties on the move, is looking for a place to call home. She thinks she might have finally found it working in her uncle’s tattoo shop in San Francisco. But all that changes when a robbery turns deadly, compelling her to pack up her things yet again.

When they need the best, they call him. That’s why Sebastian Riker is back in California, cleaning up the mess made after a tattoo shop owner who resorted to blackmail and got himself shot. But it’s impossible to get the answers he needs from a dead body, leaving him to look elsewhere. Namely, to the twenty-something-year-old niece who believes this was a random attack. Who needs to keep believing that until Sebastian finds what he’s searching for.

Ivy has one foot out of San Francisco when a chance encounter with a stranger stalls her departure. She’s always been drawn to intense men, so it’s no wonder that she now finds a reason to stay after all, quickly intoxicated by his dark smile, his intimidating strength, and his quiet control.
That is, until Ivy discovers that their encounter was no accident—and that their attraction could be her undoing.


This is the 4th book in KA Tucker’s Burying Water series. I have never been sure of which book in this series has been my favourite – because I’ve loved them all – and this has not made it any clearer!

Each book in the series focuses on two different main characters and is told from both the male and female perspectives. This is just one of the things I love about this series because KA Tucker nails dual POV every single time. Each character’s own story is completely individual and different to the other main character in their book although there is always one thing that ties them together. The uniqueness of each story line is especially shown in Surviving Ice. It is emphasised by the secretive natures of both characters.

Ivy is a character we have already been introduced to as she was Amber Welles’ enemy turned friend in Chasing River – book 3. Ivy came across as highly independent, fierce and more than able to hold her own. That comes across again in Surviving Ice but we also get to see a softer, needier and almost vulnerable side to her as Sebastian breaks down her barriers. Sebastian is the strong, contemplative and brooding type. Having just watched the film American Sniper I have a whole new appreciation for his personality, his protectiveness and his well-honed and much admired physique.

In the beginning and for the majority of the story Sebastian doesn’t fully disclose who he really is, or why he has all of a sudden entered Ivy’s life. I kept waiting, turning page after page for the proverbial to hit the fan but it was well concealed until the last gasp. If it were any other main character things might have been different, however, Ivy wasn’t oblivious to the fact that Sebastian was hiding something although she didn’t know what. I’m glad because there is nothing about Ivy that is naïve or stupid. Their attraction is obvious and the two characters being around one another seemed effortless, I really believed their story.


I could have reread this book straight away it was just that good and it had me hooked from the start. I would recommend this series for fans of Samantha Young and Colleen Hoover.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...