Wednesday, 6 April 2016

Review of Forever This Time by Maggie McGinnis

The bit on the back…

FIND YOUR JOY

Boston therapist Josie Kendrew is really good at mending everyone else's broken heart-just not her own. When she rushes home to Echo Lake after her father's stroke, Josie finds herself face-to-face with too many painful memories from the past, including the loss of her "little sister" and Ethan Miller, the boy she left behind. Ethan is now all man-and he has done wonders as CEO of Snowflake Village, the Kendrew family's Christmas-themed amusement park, which charms year-round visitors from all around New England. Suddenly, Echo Lake holds more than ghosts from the past. It also holds the possibility of a second chance at love...

AND NEVER LET GO...

Ethan's been picking up the pieces of the Kendrews' shattered family for as long as he can remember. But doing good isn't the same as being happy-and Ethan can't deny that the sweet, smart girl he once adored has become a gorgeous woman he cannot resist. For both Josie and Ethan, it's a time of love and promise, and of finding the dreams they thought they had lost...


Firstly thank you to St Martin’s for the review copy of this title via NetGalley. This is the first full length novel in Maggie McGinnis’ Echo Lake series. Forever this time is all about Josie and Ethan. Once close, the pair grew apart when Josie left for Boston. Ten years later family draws her back to Echo Lake and straight back within close proximity of her ex, Ethan. I’ve been looking forward to starting this since I read Snowflake Wishes which is an Echo Lake novella.

There is a convincing depth to both characters and as they both take turns with the narrative you get to know them and their version of events in their own right. Returning to Echo Lake isn’t easy for Josie with both the history it holds and the dose of resentment she receives on her return from Ethan and Molly. Both characters have evolved from the people they once knew and they continue to evolve throughout the book as they both have a better understanding of what pushed them apart.

I loved the idea of a Christmas theme park and how invested everyone in the town is in it. Josie’s own relationship with the park is rocky at best but she is undeniably fitted to the park and life in Echo Lake even if she tries to persuade herself otherwise. The story is poignant and as you discover exactly what drove Josie to leave you will definitely need the tissues at the ready.


Fans of Sheila Roberts and Nicole Michaels will enjoy this moving and romantic read. I’m now looking forward to reading the second novel in the series Heart Like Mine which is all about Ethan and Josie’s friend Josh.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...