Thursday, 21 April 2016

Review of Lexington and 42nd by Kim Carmody

The bit on the back…

It was meant to be the job opportunity of a life time.

It turned out to be so much more…

At the age of twenty five, Emma Lexington takes off to New York on a once in a life time twelve-month job exchange with the New York Warriors. Determined to make the most of the opportunity, she prepares herself for life in the big apple—fast paced, exciting and a whole lot of fun. What she hasn’t prepare for though, is meeting him.

The charming Will Jensen is in the prime of his playing career. As the star quarterback for the Warriors, his carefree, football centric life is thrown into disarray when he meets Emma, the beautiful, easy going Australian girl who joins the Warriors staff.

Unwilling to throw her professional reputation away on a fling with the playboy quarterback, Emma turns down Will’s advances, even though she can’t deny the attraction she feels for him. Their pull toward one another grows, but it takes a near disaster for Emma to finally give Will a chance.
Getting together might have been hard, but figuring out how to stay together will prove even more challenging as Emma must decide between conflicting loyalties.


Firstly thanks to Kim Carmody for approving me for a review copy of this title via NetGalley. This is the first in Kim’s Off Field series and is all about Emma Lexington and Will Jensen.

Although this is a sports romance novel there isn’t all that much about the sport itself which is good because to be perfectly honest my knowledge of NFL is pretty limited. Emma moves to NYC to work for the team Will plays for and after a case of mistaken identities they hit it off. I really liked the introduction between the characters because it shows something about each of them – Emma is not wooed by the celebrities she meets in her job and Will is not an egomaniacal jock.

Will is persistent in his pursuit of Emma and you have to admire him for that. He is tenacious and by all accounts, of every other woman who has encountered him, is pretty irresistible. It speaks a lot of Emma that she tries in vain to put her job first before indulging in some romance. When the characters do finally get together it is worth the wait because Will is a prince.


The title and it’s relation to the story is clever and the writing throughout is great for a debut. It keeps the story flowing during periods where there is not much in the way of progression. The story keeps you hooked throughout though and it’s easy to lose yourself in the character’s lives for a few hours.

I’d definitely recommend this for fans of Jacy Burton and Crista McHugh. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...