Monday, 11 April 2016

Review of Room For Love by Sophie Pembroke

The bit on the back…

Can she make room for love?

When wedding planner Carrie Archer inherits the crumbling Avalon Inn where she spent her childhood summers, she knows she’ll do whatever it takes to make it home. With no money for renovations, that means finding investors if she ever hopes to turn the Avalon into a dream wedding venue.

But Carrie has been left more than the inn—she’s also inherited its occupants, including three senior citizens, a single-father chef with childcare issues, a panicky receptionist, and one very gorgeous gardener.

So when her cousin Ruth declares her intention to get married at the Avalon on Christmas Eve, Carrie finds herself juggling decorating with dance nights, budgeting with bridge games…and sabotage with seduction.


Firstly thank you to Carina for a review copy of this title via NetGalley.

I first read some of Sophie’s work at the start of the year, her two Harper Impulse titles, and knew after enjoying both of those that I wanted to read more from this author. I have had this on my TBR for some time but knew I had to start it pretty soon. Sophie did not disappoint.

This story focuses mainly on Carrie Archer as she goes back to the Inn she grew up in, this time as the owner. Her grandmother has left her the Inn and Carrie is determined to prove everyone from her dad to her boss wrong, that she can and will bring the Inn back to life and make it successful.

I believed her. I loved the premise of this book. It’s something you can really tune your imagination into because the story progression runs in tandem with the regeneration of the Inn and for me that was something I could envisage clearly and could easily imagine myself in Carrie’s shoes. Carrie’s determination and independence is a bit like cutting her nose off to spite her face at some times but it’s so deeply imbedded in her that she has to do this, that she has to be successful.

The cast of supporting characters, including the other main character and narrator Nate, round out the story, it flows well as the renovation of the hotel runs alongside the storyline of the first wedding Carrie expects to hold. Every turn seems to bring some other hurdle for Carrie to overcome, especially towards the end of the book where the most pressure is upon her.

The story between Carrie and Nate is secondary to the main theme and takes a back seat throughout. There is an old chemistry between them which is sweet but Carrie’s reluctance to allow anyone in hinders their chances in the beginning.


I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series which is called The A-Z of Love. Fans of Cathy Bramley, Hester Browne and Sophie Kinsella will enjoy this series.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...