Monday, 23 May 2016

Review of An Autumn Affair by Alice Ross

The bit on the back…

Autumn is coming. Anything could happen…

Julia is contemplating an affair with ex-boyfriend Max after a chance meeting in the cereal aisle of the supermarket…and finding that he’s just as gorgeous as ever.

Miranda has got it all: expensive clothes, a huge house and her enormously wealthy husband, Doug. So why does she feel as if something is missing?

Faye is fed up of being treated like a child – she’s a teenager, and knows what she wants! She’s determined to escape her sleepy life at Primrose Cottage…

Three women, each with two options, needing to make one choice. When it comes to affairs of the heart, nothing is ever simple!

Firstly thanks to Carina for the review copy of this title via NetGalley. This is the first book of Alice’s that I’ve read and I really enjoyed it. I will be taking part in the blog tour in June for the next book in the series – A Summer of Secrets.

The story is about three women – Julia, Miranda and Faye. Each of their lives is intertwined but they all have a very different story. The three characters all have their own narratives throughout so you can get to know them better as individuals but also how they are portrayed through the eyes of the other characters.

Julia is a harassed wife and mother of two who feels taken for granted and that her life is passing her by. At times I was annoyed with Julia’s behaviour in the book. While all three characters could be selfish throughout I felt like Julia was the guiltiest of this. Julia feels like she is a passenger in her own life but has spent a number of years putting up with it instead of attempting to change it until it was too late.

Faye is the teenage daughter of Julia and is going through the usual teenage angst and emotions. She resents her uncool mum and feels like she’s not good enough compared to her brother. Faye is the epitome of every teenage girl at some point in her life. She rebels, and her irresponsible and naïve actions land her in trouble. Although Faye came across as petulant and as if she took her life for granted there is something very recognisable about her character, bringing her to life.

Miranda has a secret and she’s trying to deal with it herself before anyone else finds out. She’s in a downward spiral for most of the book and is the character who gained most of my sympathy. She portrays the grown up aftermath of the path Faye was heading down in the beginning of the book and has suffered the consequences of it.

None of the three women are happy but they’re all faced with a choice to rectify that. This book is an emotional rollercoaster as the three stories develop. I read this in two sitting as Alice’s writing was easy to lose yourself in and immerse yourself in the story. Each woman has their own pull and the three stories together form a good overall message of not settling for what you have, chasing your dreams and never taking your family for granted. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...